Atrinik.org - Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game

Community => Support => Topic started by: cutintwo on September 22, 2011, 08:16:49 pm



Title: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: cutintwo on September 22, 2011, 08:16:49 pm
Get a runtime error atrinik requested runtime to stop in an unusual way?

Running window XP service pack 3

:(

Cutin2


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: ddhanna on September 23, 2011, 02:46:56 am
i believe you will need to supply some more information.
such as:
Did you get this error during install?

If the client is installed, at what point do you get the error message (right after clicking the shortcut or after the title screen comes up)?

Have you tried to redownload and reinstall the client?

Can you provide a screen shot of the error?

I am sorry i can not be of more help, but the information you have supplied is not enough for me to go on.

Ddhanna

Update......
I have a laptop with windows XP SP3. I downloaded the client, installed the client, and was able to run the client with no problems. I will need more details from you so i can help figure out what the issue is.

Thanks

Ddhanna


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: cutintwo on September 25, 2011, 03:05:41 pm
When i click on the shortcut to start Atrinik it goes straight to a small window 

Marked Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library

Big white cross in red circle

Runtime Error!

Program: C:\Program Files\Atrinik Client 3.0\atrinik.exe

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the applications support team for more information.

OK

I have reinstalled several times to no avail. :(

Cutin2


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: Lippy on September 25, 2011, 05:11:26 pm
Hmm... The client is compiled with MinGW, not Visual C++ so I find it a bit strange. I wonder if the version of MinGW used to compile the client is targeting a newer runtime that isn't provided with XP by default? VC9 comes to mind; I believe that is not included in XP SP3 by default. That's about the only thing I can think of though...

Could you try installing the Visual C++ 2008 SP1 runtime (http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=5582) to be sure? At least we can rule that out if it doesn't solve the problem.


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: cutintwo on September 25, 2011, 09:54:28 pm
Tried that no difference :(


Cutin2


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: ddhanna on September 26, 2011, 05:47:41 am
You can try a couple of other things.

1. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307817 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307817)

2. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/884538 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/884538)

3. try running it in safe mode with networking support. do you get the same error?

hope one of these help

Ddhanna


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: cutintwo on September 26, 2011, 02:36:08 pm
Tried the patches, said my service pack is newer than them and i should not install.  Tried in Safe Mode with networking support, same result.

Cutin2


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: ddhanna on September 27, 2011, 05:45:46 pm
I have tried to reproduce the error on 4 different windows XP machines. All of them had SP3 installed and were fully up to date.

only other thing i can think of is to uninstall Visual C from your computer, restart the machine, then try running the client.

you can then reinstall Visual C and its updates.

one other Question. What antivirus are you running?





Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: cutintwo on September 27, 2011, 06:43:03 pm
AVG

Which bits of visual C do you recommend I remove as it comes up in 165 files on the pc and none of those are in the atrinik folder.

Daimonin
Corel
Microsoft
Etc...


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: ddhanna on September 27, 2011, 07:17:03 pm
use add/remove programs to uninstall Visual C.
with the other programs you have listed, you will need to reinstall Visual C.
http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=5582 (http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=5582)
after reinstalling it, use microsoft update to install all the updates that go with Visual C.



 


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: Mamoru on November 05, 2011, 09:40:25 pm
Any luck so far, Cutintwo?

M.


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: NiteStar on January 05, 2012, 02:44:26 am
IIRC, there *was* an issue someone else (erm, Plume perhaps?) had with AVG in getting Atrinik 3.0 to run. Their solution was simple: RTOAVP.  :mrgreen:


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: Mamoru on January 07, 2012, 09:24:46 pm

IIRC, there *was* an issue someone else (erm, Plume perhaps?) had with AVG in getting Atrinik 3.0 to run.  ...

Indeed. That problem has been dealt with though, quite a while ago.

M.


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: NiteStar on January 07, 2012, 09:52:39 pm
Could still be AVG ... that bloody AVP has caused more problems with the installation and execution of program code than I ever realized!  :x


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: Cleo on January 08, 2012, 03:27:59 pm
I recently had to uninstall AVG from a friend's computer because the free version disabled itself and wanted to be registered and activated...


Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: ddhanna on January 08, 2012, 10:15:22 pm
i havent been using AVG for a long time. I switched when they started getting pushy with their advertising and added a bunch of features that just slowed it down.
I currently use and suggest Avast. There is a free version.



Title: Re: Cannot run Atrinik 3.0
Post by: Mamoru on January 09, 2012, 03:31:11 pm
I have always been using and recommending Avast (free version). I've tried others, but had nothing but trouble (especially with Panda/Norton/NOD/McAfee/AVG).

M.