linktree Atrinik.org - Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game  >  Community  >  Support
linktree Topic: Not one to bug but...
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Not one to bug but...  (Read 4466 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Bookmarked by 0 members.
Offline ghost101

Necroposter :P
Posts: 156
Gender: Male
« on: July 08, 2010, 08:25:17 am »

... my map checker on Gridarta doesn't check my maps. Any suggestions? Links to maybe a separate download for the Atrinik Map Checker?  :( I'm tired of sending in maps with errors  :x
 Logged

I keel yew.
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 625
Gender: Male
« Reply #1 on: July 08, 2010, 08:49:18 am »

What do you mean by, it doesn't check your maps?
Does it give an error? Does it do nothing at all?
~Kiana~
 Logged
Offline ghost101

Necroposter :P
Posts: 156
Gender: Male
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2010, 08:52:07 am »

Nothing! Just like when I'm watching TV. :D
 Logged

I keel yew.
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 625
Gender: Male
« Reply #3 on: July 08, 2010, 09:14:35 am »

Then it hasn't detected any errors.
Note that Gridarta (the editor) doesn't check for even half of the common mapbugs.
Cleo just told me I has a plant on a tile without a floor behind a wall.
That's something Cleo's mapchecker script does check, I guess.
If I could just get that to work.. :?
~Kiana~
 Logged
Offline ghost101

Necroposter :P
Posts: 156
Gender: Male
« Reply #4 on: July 08, 2010, 09:21:12 am »

Oh. Mkay while my internet was down I've managed to make lots of maps. [connected to embar] but will not be added to the new .zip file i'll put in the embar topic :)
 Logged

I keel yew.
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 625
Gender: Male
« Reply #5 on: July 08, 2010, 09:42:16 am »

Looking forward to new maps :)
As for common mapper mistakes, don't use creators for mobs. Use spawn points.
~Kiana~
 Logged
Offline ghost101

Necroposter :P
Posts: 156
Gender: Male
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2010, 09:45:07 am »

IDK what creator is for and usually I don't use something I don't know about. :D
 Logged

I keel yew.
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 625
Gender: Male
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2010, 09:57:45 am »

Creators are used for creating items.
Can be connected (e.g. food in jail),
or inside a mob (e.g. campable items).
~Kiana~
 Logged
Offline ghost101

Necroposter :P
Posts: 156
Gender: Male
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2010, 09:59:07 am »

Hm. might test it out. See if i can get the hang of it and hey maybe ill add it to the maps of the graveyards
 Logged

I keel yew.
Offline ghost101

Necroposter :P
Posts: 156
Gender: Male
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2010, 10:11:26 am »

Now there is something terribly wrong! :o IDK I haven't done anything to the script directory or the artifact directory or anything else!


* moreerros.bmp (1102.55 KB, 783x480 - viewed 253 times.)
 Logged

I keel yew.
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 625
Gender: Male
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2010, 10:21:02 am »

Open up w32_start_editor.bat (in the mapmaker folder) in notepad and replace it's contents with this:
Code: [Select]
cd editor
copy AtrinikEditor.jar.tmp AtrinikEditor.jar
java.exe -jar AtrinikEditor.jar
cd ..
PAUSE

When you still get the error, copy the contents of the console window and paste it here.
To copy, right-click in the console window and "select all", then press Enter.
~Kiana~
 Logged
Offline ghost101

Necroposter :P
Posts: 156
Gender: Male
« Reply #11 on: July 08, 2010, 10:26:43 am »

It caused one small error expand


* moreerrorsagain.bmp (949.15 KB, 727x445 - viewed 256 times.)
 Logged

I keel yew.
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 625
Gender: Male
« Reply #12 on: July 08, 2010, 10:32:21 am »

I had the same problem, did you install a new mapmaker?
~Kiana~
 Logged
Offline ghost101

Necroposter :P
Posts: 156
Gender: Male
« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2010, 10:33:05 am »

I will do that.
 Logged

I keel yew.
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 625
Gender: Male
« Reply #14 on: July 08, 2010, 10:47:36 am »

If that doesn't solve the problem try this:

In vista go to:
C:\Users\Username\.gridarta
In XP go to:
C:\Documents and Settings\Username\.gridarta

Then open atrinik.conf in an editor such as notepad.

Search for
archDirectory

Then change the path to your arch directory, for example:
archDirectory=C:\\atrinik\\mapmaker_package\\arch

~Kiana~
 Logged
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: