linktree Atrinik.org - Multiplayer Online Role Playing Game  >  Community  >  General Chat
linktree Topic: My new PC
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: My new PC  (Read 11749 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. Bookmarked by 0 members.
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 623
Gender: Male
« on: July 02, 2010, 02:29:54 pm »

Because I bought my current pc in 2003 and manufactured in 2001, I've decided to build a new one myself :)
For those of you who are interested these are the specifications:

Case: CPC-T45UB-U01 Xigmatek Asgard
Fan: SY1225SL12SL Scythe "SLIP STREAM" 120mm Case Fan
PSU: CMPSU-400CX Corsair CX400W
MB: 90-MIBAC0-G0EAY0KZ ASUS M4A785TD-V EVO
CPU: HDZ955FBGIBOX AMD Phenom™ II X4 995 C2 125W :roll:
GFX: Integrated ATI Radeon™ HD 4200 GPU
RAM: KVR1066D3E7SK2/2G Kingston ValueRAM 2x1GB 1066MHz DDR3 ECC CL7 DIMM (Kit of 2) with Thermal Sensor
HD: HD103SJ Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB
K/M: DS-3250 Trust Wireless Optical Multimedia Deskset DS-3250
Display, optical drive and other hardware such as a printer/scanner I'll use from my old pc.
Optical drive will use a bidirectional IDE - SATA converter.

As you can see, it's not a gaming pc, focussing on CPU rather than GFX.
It can easily be expanded and should last quite a few years, just like my current pc did.
Many thanks to Lippy for helping me find the right parts. 8)
~Kiana~
« Last Edit: July 02, 2010, 02:36:14 pm by Kiana »  Logged
Offline Lippy
Developer
Rantoholic

Posts: 52
Gender: Male
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2010, 05:34:45 pm »

Gratz, Kiana!

Btw, that CPU is a 955 Black Edition with an unlocked multiplier, and it's the C3 stepping. The older C2 stepping had a TDP of 140W. It's far better than my Core 2 Duo E8400, that's for sure. While Intel have pretty much EOLed LGA 775 and upgrades to the now current LGA 1156 and LGA 1366 are looking unlikely as even those will be obsolete shortly, your AM3 socket should be still going strong. Even the Bulldozer CPUs that AMD are releasing next year will still be compatible with AM3.
 Logged

The signature isn't ready yet. Come back tomorrow!
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 623
Gender: Male
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2010, 05:45:07 pm »

Thanks :) Would have had a hard time without your help ;)

The item's id on the bill is HDZ955FBGIBOX.

According to this page:
http://products.amd.com/en-us/DesktopCPUSideBySide.aspx?id=617&id=618&id=591&id=682&id=532
C3 would be an M instead of the I.

~Kiana~
« Last Edit: July 02, 2010, 05:50:53 pm by Kiana »  Logged
Offline Lippy
Developer
Rantoholic

Posts: 52
Gender: Male
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2010, 07:24:36 pm »

Yeah, looks like a C2 then. I thought both the 955 and 965 were 140W at the C2 stepping, but it looks like I was wrong there. Only the 965 had 140W, while the 955 has always been 125W. There is hardly any difference between the two anyway. C3 just uses a tad less power and probably runs very slightly cooler than C2.
 Logged

The signature isn't ready yet. Come back tomorrow!
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 623
Gender: Male
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2010, 07:02:48 pm »

Already got the keyboard & mouse :D Ordered them from a different shop.
The other two will take a bit longer because they send when they have all products ready.
~Kiana~
 Logged
Offline ghost101

Necroposter :P
Posts: 156
Gender: Male
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2010, 09:09:23 am »

gratz!  :D
 Logged

I keel yew.
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 623
Gender: Male
« Reply #6 on: July 04, 2010, 11:06:07 am »

Thanks, I won't be using the keyboard & mouse with my new pc.
The multimedia functions are windows based (and I like my own keyboard too much :P).
I'll turn my 'old' pc into a media centre downstairs, probably.
~Kiana~
 Logged
Offline NiteStar

Posts: 466
Gender: Male
« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2010, 01:09:42 pm »

Lippy, can you point me (or explain) to a web page that explains the C1, C2, C3 stuff? Thanks! :)
 Logged
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 623
Gender: Male
« Reply #8 on: July 07, 2010, 01:24:40 pm »

Basically the stepping is a way to show the revision of the cpu. The main difference is that newer revisions use less power while running cooler.
~Kiana~
 Logged
Offline NiteStar

Posts: 466
Gender: Male
« Reply #9 on: July 07, 2010, 01:33:05 pm »

OH so this is totally different than the C State that the Intel Thermal Analysis Tool shows ... sooooo confusing all these diff processors nowadays. I long for the days of the 6510! ;p
 Logged
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 623
Gender: Male
« Reply #10 on: July 07, 2010, 02:10:36 pm »

For Intel have a look here: C-states, C-states and even more C-states
~Kiana~

edit: removed wrong info :)
« Last Edit: July 08, 2010, 08:41:22 am by Kiana »  Logged
Offline Lippy
Developer
Rantoholic

Posts: 52
Gender: Male
« Reply #11 on: July 07, 2010, 06:59:59 pm »

CPU steppings typically use a letter and a number for revision numbers. The first one is usually A1. The letter signifies the major revision while the number represents the minor revision. Major and minor revisions mean different things though with steppings than it does with programs, but I don't want to make this sound too confusing.

Anyway, since the CPU Kiana got is a C2 stepping, it means it's the second minor revision of the third major revision of that CPU. That's basically what it means.
 Logged

The signature isn't ready yet. Come back tomorrow!
Offline Mamoru
Developer
Edwin Miltenburg

Posts: 623
Gender: Male
« Reply #12 on: July 07, 2010, 10:48:19 pm »

Case/Fan/Memory will arrive tomorrow! :D
Still no news from motherboard though (which will be sent with CPU/PSU/HDD).
~Kiana~
 Logged
Offline NiteStar

Posts: 466
Gender: Male
« Reply #13 on: July 08, 2010, 12:09:49 am »


The stepping only applies to AMD processors.
For Intel have a look here: C-states, C-states and even more C-states
~Kiana~


As I said before, today's processors as sooooooo confusing! :p

IIRC Intel used to use a Family hierarchy to denote CPU version -- this is, before they switched to multiple-core CPUs, yes?
 Logged
Offline Lippy
Developer
Rantoholic

Posts: 52
Gender: Male
« Reply #14 on: July 08, 2010, 04:11:36 am »

Even Intel use steppings. Just about every CPU manufacturer does. The family is used to denote a generation of CPUs. A stepping is generally used as a revision of that family. I know AMD still use family to describe what generation their CPUs are.
 Logged

The signature isn't ready yet. Come back tomorrow!
Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to: